Blackie

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

I came across Blackie and his mom while walking to Plomari; I found out later that he was a newborn. I’ve never seen a newborn colt before and was impressed by how long his legs are. I may have been the first person to take his picture–he was quite camera shy and a little startled to be photographed.

Soon after I returned from Molyvos to Ayios Isodoros a week ago Monday, Mare and colt were moved to a pasture next to my apartment. I can often hear them, especially at night when it’s pretty quiet. I’d like to feed them some treats–can anyone tell me what would make a good treat for them? I remember from the horse books I read as a child that the kids in the book would feed horses apples :).

Lesvos is known for its horse breeding and you see horses almost everywhere you go.  I was amused to see a sign at the gate of a famous monastery, Moni Taxiarches, that said that no horses are allowed on the premises. There are quite a few festivals on the island involving horses. There’s one in Plomari in August, which has a special song associated with it. The men of Palaio Xori (meaning old village), a mountain village particularly known for its horses, bring their horses down to Plomari, the largest town near the village, and dance on the horses!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Blackie

  1. Yannis says:

    Dance on the back of the horses?! That’s impressive, did you take a photos?

Leave a comment